18630496

I’m not a huge fan of the cover, but the actual contents of this book were fabulous. I read it in four hours. It’s only 264 pages, so it’s not a huge feat, but it’s also totally worth your time.

I didn’t really expect much from this because I didn’t like the cover, buuuuuuut, it was amazing. The characters were wonderful, the story was intriguing, and I could not put it down.

So, Perfected is about a girl who’s been genetically engineered to be the perfect companion. She, along with the other nineteen girls in her group, have been groomed and primped until they’re the physical representation of perfection. They’re all five feet tall and delicate, with soft skin and silky hair.

Anyway, they’re bought and sold by rich people, and they’ve been raised to not really care that they’re auctioned like slaves. Also, they’re called pets. Like, actual pets.

It’s ridiculous, really, but points for originality.

This book revolves around Eight, who’s renamed Ella by her new family. She quickly develops feelings for her owner’s son, who reciprocates them, and this is about Ella learning what it means to be free.

It’s so good. I highlight things that strike me when I read, and half of this book is highlighted. It’s amazing.

Penn is her love interest, and even though Penn is not a name, I adore him. He’s so wonderful.

For anyone who’s read this book, I am not okay with the ending. I highlighted the heck out of that. If you’re looking for a happy ending, let me tell you that you will not find it in this book. Well, some aspects are happy, but it didn’t go down how I planned it.

Sorry if I inadvertently spoiled anything. Maybe you should read it.

Five stars because, I mean, Penn:

five stars

