the unbecoming

13643567

15768409

I read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer forever ago, but I just recently–and by just recently, I mean yesterday–finished the trilogy, so I’m doing a review.

These books are about a teenage girl named Mara, who can kill people with her mind–which is apparently not very fun. She found out about her powers when her then-boyfriend, Jude, was being a jerk. They were in an abandoned insane asylum, because that’s fun, and she made the building collapse, killing Jude, Rachel–her best friend–and Claire, Jude’s sister.

She and her family then move to Miami, where she attends Croyden, a fancy-shmancy prep school. While there, she meets Noah Shaw, who is cute and witty and British. Also, he has healing powers.

Anyway, Mara becomes convinced that Jude is alive, and so she gets all paranoid and stressed out and insane. It’s fun. These books are about her trying to deal with her powers, learn about them, and also stop killing people she gets mad at.

Let’s discuss Noah.

He’s perfect, and also really funny and wonderful and lovely. I adore him. I like him more than Mara.

Also, Jamie.

If you’ve read Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, then think of Jamie as the Kenji of these books. If you haven’t read Shatter Me, then Jamie’s just the comic relief. I love comic relief, especially in books as intense as these.

In general, I adore humor, but Jamie’s humor is all, “Ha-ha, I’m crazy, but so are you, this is fun,” kind of thing, and it’s great. He’s just making light of how insane Mara is, which she needs, because she takes herself way too seriously.

When I got The Retribution of Mara Dyer, I, like, actually hyperventilated. We’d gone to two different book places before we went to Barnes and Noble, and I really wasn’t expecting to find it there, but then I did, and I freaked out. My sister looked so embarrassed, and she kept telling me to calm down, but I couldn’t because I got The Retribution.

Anywho, read these books. They’re so good.

Five stars because Noah and Jamie and everybody:

five stars

 

