curses and smoke

I don’t think I’ve ever cried as much as I did when I finished this book. It was worse than after I read The Fault in our Stars, which is really saying something, because I was a mess after that.

So, this book is told in two point of views: Lucia’s and Tag’s. It’s all in third person, which I generally don’t like much, but I really didn’t notice with this.

It’s about a girl named Lucia Titurius and a boy named Tages, or Tag.

Lucia is concerned for Pompeii–which she should be, but whatever–but her father and other men refuse to listen to her theories on what’s happening because she’s a woman. She’s being married to a man who is forty-four years older than her, and she’s really bitter about it, as expected.

Tag is the son of the medicus, or healer, at a gladiatorial school. He was sent to Rome to train three years ago, and now he’s returned, all cute and tall. He wants to become a gladiator to win his freedom, just like everyone else in the entire Roman Empire, apparently, but the overseer and his master want him to continue his work as a healer.

Tag and Lucia were childhood friends, but when he went off to Rome, they lost connection.

Anyway, this book is about Tag and Lucia’s love for each other, her love for Pompeii, his love for his father, and also some wealthy patrician named Quintus.

SPOILER ALERT: Quintus is in love with Tag.

Here are some reasons why I love this book:

  1. It made me cry, and I love books that make me cry.
  2. Tag.
  3. Lucia’s theories.
  4. Minos. (Lucia’s dog.)
  5. Castor. (Tag’s honorary son.)

You get the gist.

Five stars because of ALL THE TEARS:

five stars

