These are the top 10 books I have read that I love and still remember the characters and plots! This was also one of the hardest things I have ever done. Why are there so many amazing books?

10. The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian_cover500

This book is about a girl named Katy moving to a small town that , of course, has a supernatural guy for her to fall in love with. It is my favorite type of book- supernatural romance. Not only does it have the romance, it is also extremely funny. I remember reading this book after finishing a test and having to pause in between paragraphs so I wouldn’t bust out laughing in the silent classroom. This book did not have some big impact that changed my life, but it remains one of my favorites to read. Also, the main character loves reading and has a blog where she reviews books!

“Why are you such an ass?” The words came out before I could think twice.
“Everyone has to excel at something, right?”
“Well, you’re doing a great job.”   

 

9. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

lightningthief1

This was one of the first book series I read and loved. It’s one of the series where you watch all the characters grow up and I think those are the most touching. For anyone who doesn’t know, this is a series about a boy named Percy Jackson who finds out he is a demigod. It’s just one of those books that will be in my heart forever. ( I even have a Camp Half-Blood t-shirt stolen by my dear sister.)

“How did you die?”
“We er….drowned in a bathtub.”
“All three of you?”
“It was a big bathtub.” 

 

8. Mortal Instruments/ Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

 

I know it’s kind of cheating counting these as one series but… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯. Mortal Instruments is about a girl named Clary who finds out she is a shadowhunter. Infernal Devices is a prequel about a girl named Tessa Grey. It’s really cool how they all tie together. I prefer Infernal Devices because TMI got a little too weird for me. Either way, both are really good and you don’t have to read them together.

p.s. There is a new show on ABC Family called Shadowhunters and it’s TMI and I am so excited!

TMI:

“Have you fallen in love with the wrong person yet?’
Jace said, “Unfortunately, Lady of the Haven, my one true love remains myself.”
…”At least,” she said, “you don’t have to worry about rejection, Jace Wayland.”
“Not necessarily. I turn myself down occasionally, just to keep it interesting.”         

ID:

“You know,” Gabriel said, “there was a time I thought we could be friends, Will.”

“There was a time I thought I was a ferret,” Will said, “but that turned out to be the opium haze. Did you know it had that effect? Because I didn’t.”    

 

7. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

This is the only classic that I have read ( or at least the only one I finished ) and I felt it deserved to be on this list. Jane and Mr. Darcy (wow) were perfect for each other and it took her a long time to figure that out because his ego was blocking her sight. By the time he realized he wanted to marry her, she had decided he was a jerk so when he proposed she said no. But, he did not give up and kept pursuing her and in the last 20 pages of the book, they got together. ( I apologies for the run-on sentence. ) It is a great book. Elizabeth Bennet is such a great character and Mr. Darcy is so frustrating and dreamy.

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”

 

6. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny 🙂 Han

This book makes me smile. Lara Jean writes love letters to show the end of her having feelings for a boy. They get sent to those boys. These book(s) are about the fallout. Lara Jean is such a funny and sweet character. There is a second amazing book and it is just as good as the first. I can’t even think of more to say but everyone on the face of the earth should read it. I hope it makes everyone smile as much as it made me.

“I had no idea you were such a feminist,” I say.
“Feminist?” Stormy makes a disgusted sound in her throat. “I’m no feminist. Really, Lara Jean!”
“Stormy, don’t get worked up about it. All it means is that you believe men and women are equal, and should have equal rights.”
“I don’t think any man is my equal. Women are far superior, and don’t you forget it. Don’t forget any of the things I just told you.”  

 

5. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I love these books. I know they are sometimes hard to love but I have read them all and seen every movie the night they came out. I don’t really think I even need to give a summary so I will move onto my opinions. I will admit that I love these books for a lot of reasons but coming in number one with a very big lead is Peeta Mellark. I mean…

I should probably stop before I say too way much. I love this series and Peeta.

But more words tumble out. “You’re a painter. You’re a baker. You like to sleep with the windows open. You never take sugar in your tea. And you always double-knot your shoelaces.”
Then I dive into my tent before I do something stupid like cry.”       

 

4. Gallagher Girls by Ally Carter

This is a book about a girl named Cammie Morgan who goes to the Gallagher Academy For Exceptional Young Women. Most people think they are snobs but really they are spies. I love these books so much, I mean Zach Goode is amazing. It gets a little intense later on but has a happily ever after.

You really saw some?” Liz said an hour later. Sure, we had the stereo blaring and the shower running, but Liz still whispered, “They really…exist?”
“Liz,” I whispered back, “they’re not unicorns.”
“No,” Bex said flatly, “they’re boys. And they’re…good.”    

 

3. Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

The way this book is written is magical. Juliette and Warner. Juliette and Warner. Juliette and Warner. Juliette and Warner. Juliette and Warner. Perfection. Juliette has been kept in isolation because of the power of her touch. It causes immense pain and eventual torture. It’s a love triangle with the boy who rescued her and the boy who was her captor. So, read it. And love Aaron and Kenji!

“Yeah, bro.” Kenji puts his utensils down. “You are moody. It’s always ‘Shut up, Kenji.’ ‘Go to sleep, Kenji.’ ‘No one wants to see you naked, Kenji.’ When I know for a fact that there are thousands of people who would love to see me naked—” 

 

2. Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Alina Starkov is an orphan nobody. Then she’s not. She is the Sun Summoner. I love these books and how you see her grow up and become who she is meant to be. I read this when I was 9 and have read it so many times since then. I have marked up the books and bookmarked more than half the pages. Everyone needs to read and love Mal. And the Darkling. And Nikolai.

 “It’s probably for the best, I told myself. How would I have said goodbye to Mal anyway? Thanks for being my best friend and making my life bearable. Oh, and sorry I fell in love with you for a while there. Make sure to write!
‘What are you smiling at?’
I whirled, peering into the gloom. The Darkling’s voice seemed to float out of the shadows. He walked down to the stream, crouching on the bank to splash water on his face and through his dark hair.
‘Well?’ he asked, looking up at me.
‘Myself,’ I admitted.
‘Are you that funny?’
‘I’m hilarious.”         

 

  1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

I will not say the summary. If you don’t know who Tom Riddle is then you shouldn’t be reading this at all.

“I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.”         

 

I hope you enjoyed this list. Read every single one of them and then we can become friends.

-Jenny

 

 

 

 

