Maximum_Ride1

(There are several versions of this cover, but this is the one that I read, so I picked this.)

I’ve wanted to read this book since I was in fourth grade, after I read the Witch and Wizard series by this same author. Unfortunately, The Angel Experiment wasn’t in that library, and we didn’t own it, so it became impossible to find and I stopped caring. It’s at the library at the school I’m currently at, so I was able to read it.

Anyway, this book is about a girl named Maximum–which isn’t a name, but whatever–and her friends. They’re all mutants, with wings and feather-thin bones to accommodate for their wings. They’re bird-kids, really. And there are these other mutants called the Erasers that are trying to find Max and her friends, and they succeed in kidnapping Angel, Max’s favorite member of the flock.

Max, Fang, Iggy, the Gasman, and Nudge all set off to find Angel, and this book is about the powers that they begin to realize they have, their journey to rescue Angel, and the things they learn about Jeb, their kind-of dad, and themselves, too.

Also, there’s this one scene where Fang and Max kiss, and it’s really great.

I hope you read this book, and that I didn’t spoil anything, because I rarely get to read books that I know nothing about, and that’s why I enjoyed this book so much, I think.

Anyway, I’m giving it four stars because the writing was a little too childish and cheesy for me, but I loved the story:

four stars

