the jewel

Hi, everyone, so, I finished this book last night, and it was amazing. I’m still recovering, so please bear with me.

Firstly, can we discuss this cover, please? I mean, look at it!

Okay, so this book is about a girl–named Violet, by the way. She is a surrogate for royalty, because in this world, people of royal blood can’t bear healthy children, so they get surrogates. The surrogates have powers in shape, growth, and color, which is why they’re special. They could actually create the perfect child and then give birth to it.

Violet is one of the surrogates who hates being a surrogate. There are some girls who are really happy about it because they either had bad lives with their families or they really want to live in the Jewel. Violet, however, never wanted to leave her family, and she doesn’t want to have to leave her best friend, Raven, either. Raven is also a surrogate, and they were in the same holding facility.

This book is about Violet’s life as a surrogate and how she tries to escape, because, let me tell you, being a surrogate in The Jewel‘s world absolutely sucks. You are bought and sold in an auction like you’re a freaking slave, and then you’re expected to have these snobby, rich people’s snobby, rich children. Who cares where you go after that? No one.

There’s also a little bit of romance, and by a little bit, I mean ASH LOCKWOOD. He’s so perfect. I love him.

I hope I didn’t spoil anything. Please read this book. It’s amazing and wonderful. The sequel is called The White Rose, and I will be reading it very soon.

Five stars because Ash:

five stars

