song of the sparrow

When I first checked this book out of the library, I was kind of mad because it’s written in poem-form, and I read poems at the speed of a turtle. When I read this, I was looking for a quick read, so I was real mad.

Luckily, it’s written in free-verse, so it was basically a really lyrical book written in columns, which was fine with me, because that meant that I read it in roughly three hours.

It’s about Elaine, the Lady of Shallot. I absolutely adore that poem, which was the main reason I got this book, but it ended up being even better then the poem.

In case you’re not familiar with The Lady of Shallot, she was a girl in Arthurian legend who was desperately in love with Sir Lancelot. When she learned that he didn’t reciprocate those feelings, she got in a boat and floated down a river until she died.

This book stuck pretty closely with the legend until the end, and it featured characters like Tristan from the Tristan and Isolde legend, Gwynevere, Arthur, Lancelot, and many more. It’s very good.

My dear friend, Mai, is currently reading this, and she thinks it’s good, which is a miracle since she hates books. Anyway, everyone should read this. You won’t regret it, I promise, but if you do, feel free to blame me.

Five stars because it’s perfect:

five stars

