tsft

Oh my dear lord, this book is beautiful. The writing, the cover, everything is beautiful.

This is the last book in the trilogy, and it is the best one, in my opinion. It drags on a little bit at the beginning, but the details made me really happy and helped me envision the events better. Um, um, um.

This book wraps everything up, basically. There’s a new Realms landmark–the Tree of All Souls–and Circe is dealt with. All the antagonists from the first two books are eliminated, and the new ones are gone, too. Gemma and Kartik are so freaking cute in this book. Felicity and Ann are figuring out what they’re going to do with their futures, which is always fun, and Gemma is really beginning to see how Pippa is being corrupted by the Realms, but Fee refuses to believe that her darling Pippa is anything but good and kind. They’re facing all these conflicts, and Gemma is trying to solve all of the problems of the Realms–she’s the High Priestess, it’s kind of her job–and she’s struggling with trust issues, so she’s trying to do everything by herself.

There’s a quote from Anna and the French Kiss that goes, “Is it possible for home to be a person and not a place?”

Is it possible for home to a book and not a place? The Sweet Far Thing is my favorite book in this trilogy–my favorite book ever, honestly–and it just amazes me that Libba Bray can write such a masterpiece. I don’t doubt her talent, but I truly didn’t expect this book to be as good as it was.

(That was a lie. I had great expectations, but this book exceeded them.)

The Sweet Far Thing is 819 pages of pure genius.

Five stars:

five stars

