jane eyre

Were the Bronte sisters sent to some sort of writing boot camp as children? Or are they just naturally skilled in the art of making literary masterpieces? I think maybe the latter.

I finished Jane Eyre last night and I am so pleased and just over-all thrilled with how it ended. I won’t spoil anything, because I hate spoilers and I’m fairly certain that everyone else does, too, but let me tell you, this book was written so astoundingly well, and Jane is a character that I think can be related to. She’s not some awe-inspiring beauty who looks like an angel sent from the heavens to grace us humans with her stunning-ness.

No. She’s Jane freaking Eyre, plain as can be.

She’s aware that she’s not pretty, and sure, she’s self-conscious about it, at times, but I think that makes her an even more relatable character. And she’s strong. She is perhaps the most inspiring and revolutionary character I have ever read about. She didn’t let her love for Mr. Rochester get in the way of her self-respect. And I think that she handled everything that happened to her in her life in such an amazing and wonderful way. Jane is headstrong and outspoken. She’s most certainly a little ahead of her time.

I aspire to be like Jane in all ways. She doesn’t let people walk over her, but she knows her place. In the book, she is a governess, and she knows that Mr. Rochester is above her, and she respects him when she knows what he does is right. She’s not a fool. Jane is witty and courageous, and she is seriously just an amazing person.

Oh, I forgot to actually say what the book was about. It’s hard to describe. Here:

Although the poor but plucky heroine is outwardly of plain appearance, she possesses an indomitable spirit, a sharp wit and great courage. She is forced to battle against the exigencies of a cruel guardian, a harsh employer and a rigid social order. All of which circumscribe her life and position when she becomes governess to the daughter of the mysterious, sardonic and attractive Mr Rochester. However, there is great kindness and warmth in this epic love story, which is set against the magnificent backdrop of the Yorkshire moors.

Credits for the summary go to Amazon.

Anyways, this is an amazing book, and it may seem kind-of boring at first, but once she gets out of that stupid school, it’s perfect. It’s totally worth your time. I genuinely think it might be the best book I’ve ever read.

five stars

I’m going to read Wuthering Heights next. Please comment and tell me your opinions of it, because I don’t know what it’s about, really. I just kind-of went on a Bronte book spree.

