shatter me

A few days ago, I read Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. It was amazing, I loved it. It was wonderful. Here’s the summary on the back of the book:

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but the Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering the strength to fight back for the very first time– and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever. 

I actually didn’t want to read this, at first, because I didn’t like the cover. It wasn’t the eye that you see above; it was a girl in a white dress, and there was something about the cover that I just didn’t like. I know that you’re not supposed to judge books by their covers, but I do, and I probably won’t ever stop.

But when I finally did read it, it took me approximately five hours. I loved it. A lot. The way that Tahereh Mafi wrote the book was so interesting that it made it much more exciting to read. I continued to reread it until I got Unravel Me, which is the second book in the series.

I really did not like Juliette very much in the first book. She was just so depressed all the time, which I understand; I mean, I’d be sad if my home was a freaking insane asylum because my parents were done with me and my touch was lethal. But, still. At least you have a window.

I liked that Adam stayed with her in the insane asylum, but I didn’t like Adam himself. He seemed like a jerk to me, and his behavior in the beginning is explained later, and he apologizes, but if your first scene in the book is stealing Juliette’s bed, I don’t like him. Stealing people’s beds is rude and completely uncalled for. God.

Anyway, I don’t like Adam. At all. I love Warner, though, who you meet in Chapter Eight. I don’t think you’re supposed to like Warner, but he’s cute and is very clearly infatuated with Juliette. He’s cruel and evil and all that, but it’s really not his fault. His dad’s a jerk who made his could-be-wonderful son a jerk. Warner’s super possessive of Juliette, which annoys her because of her secret affair with Adam, who is actually a guard.

Warner is really very similar to Juliette. They’re both neglected children whose parents didn’t love them and basically got rid of them as soon as was humanly possible. They both kill without really wanting to. That’s really it.

Warner is trying to get Juliette to choose him, basically, but his methods of doing so suck. Badly. He had her torture a small child, which is basically a reminder of the other small child she killed in the grocery store. And he, like, shoots some meat at dinner, which is just weird. He was trying to get her to respect him, but that seemed dumb.

Meanwhile, in AdamJulietteLand, Juliette discovers that Adam can touch her. She then convinces Warner to disable her cameras by saying she will touch him, which I thought was weird because why would Warner want that? Anyway, so without the cameras in Juliette’s room, she can make out with Adam all she wants. Which is apparently all. The. Time. They never stop. She does have seventeen years to make up for, but slow down, J. Gosh.

But it’s still amazing. I won’t spoil the rest but it is fabulous. Tahereh Mafi deserves a trophy for this masterpiece.

five stars

